The power of a well-chosen song (a.k.a. finding a dream you can speak to)

21 Jan

I missed Barack and Michelle Obama’s first dance at the Neighborhood Inaugural Ball last night. When a friend at work found this out, he made me Google it on the spot.

As all my friends know, I’m no romantic. And yet I found this completely mesmerizing — a fairy tale that Hollywood couldn’t have filmed any better, thanks to Beyoncé’s perfect serenade and the genuine romance the Obamas had on display. (By the way, props to the ABC photographer.)

At Last

At last, my love has come along.
My lonely days are over
and life is like a song.
Oh, yeah, at last.
The skies above are blue.
My heart was wrapped up in clovers
the night I looked at you.
I found a dream that I could speak to,
a dream that I can call my own.
I found a thrill to rest my cheek to,
a thrill that I have never known.
Oh, yeah, when you smile, you smile.
Oh, and then the spell was cast.
And here we are in heaven,
for you are mine…
at last.

One Response to “The power of a well-chosen song (a.k.a. finding a dream you can speak to)”

  1. burnowt January 25, 2009 at 12:05 am #

    Silly me, watching CNN for ‘complete’ coverage (Thanks for trampling over ‘Air and Simple Gifts’, Wolf! I really needed to know that right that second). I missed this too and only picked up on it later. Wow. I think one thing that struck me watching both ‘Obamapalooza’ and this was how these megastar pop musicians, from Beyonce to Bono seemed really to be humbled and honored to participate in all of this, just like the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

