What do you get the microblogging site that has everything?

22 Mar
Zappos.com CEO Tony Hsieh sends his birthday wishes

Zappos.com CEO Tony Hsieh sends his birthday wishes

Twitter’s growing up so fast. The microblogging site just celebrated its third birthday — and it’s 1300 percent bigger than it was just a year ago.

Mashable said this of the milestone: “Thank you Twitter for giving us real-time news, creating a community of Twitter application developers, and for giving us THE_REAL_SHAQ.”

@Zappos tweeted: “Happy birthday Twitter! Like most 3 yr olds, u make me feel happy, sad, surprised, overwhelmed. But in the end I still love u.”

So hey, happy birthday, Twitter. I’m sorry I thought you were incredibly stupid when I first heard about you. I was wrong, and all those people who were busy tweeting about coffee and weekends and politics and everything else under the sun were actually right. Without you, I wouldn’t have had the chance last Thanksgiving to talk about turducken with Zappos.com CEO Tony Hsieh. I wouldn’t have learned about the Detroit Pistons’ Allen Iverson trade before all my friends did. I wouldn’t have known about Creative Commons. Thanks for showing me how much can be accomplished with just 140 characters.

Leave a Reply

